Dina Koota

Dina Koota is about health and familiar happiness.

It is based upon the Tara. In Tara calculation 9 groups of Nakshatras are considered. Each group has a benefic or malefic significance.

Tara can be applied to a single planet (e.g. the Moon) or it can be interpreted for a pair of planets. In Dina Koota the relationship between the Moon positions (i.e. the relationship of Janma Nakshatras) of the couple is evaluated.

The table below shows the Tara types and their assignment to the Nakshatras.

No. Tara Effect Cycle 1 Cycle 2 Cycle 3
1 Janma Benefic Aswini Magha Moola
2 Sampat Prosperity Bharani Poorvaphalguni Poorvashadha
3 Vipat Obstacles Krittika Uttaraphalguni Uttarashadha
4 Kshema Gains Rohini Hasta Sravana
5 Pratyak Destruction Mrigasira Chitra Dhanista
6 Sadhaka Success Ardra Swati Satabhisha
7 Vadha Destruction, Death Punarvasu Visakha Poorvabhadra
8 Mitra Benefic Pushyami Anuradha Uttarabhadra
9 Parma Mitra Prosperity Aslesha Jyeshta Revati

Nakshatras 3, 5 and 7 are regarded as malefices.

Dina Calculation

The rule for Dina Koota calculation is


Count the number of Nakshatras from to groom to the bride and divide it by 9. If the remainder is 3, 5 or 7, no points are assigned, else 1.5. Repeat the same in reverse order, again 1.5 points are assigned if the remainder is not 3, 5, or 7.

So the Dina Koota value can be 0, 1.5 or 3.