Sbc uses a zodiac of 28 Nakshatras.

This is a significant difference to other Nakshatra based chakras. Most of these classical chakras depend on a zodiac of 27 Nakshatras, so they are trigonal because the number 27 has only the divisors 3 and 9.

So the presence of Abhijit plays a key role and gives rise to a rectangular Nakshatra chart composed of 4 * 7 = 28 basic fields.

Placement of Nakshatras

Sarvatobhadra Chakra is drawn in a rectangle of 9 * 9 = 81 fields. The Nakshatras belong to upper and lower row, resp. the left and right column. The corners and the 7 * 7 sections in the center of the chakra are not occupied so far.

The counting is clockwise. Aswini is the 6th Nakshatra in the upper row. The other Nakshatras (including Abhijit) follow in regular manner.

The picture below shows the Chakra.


The Corners

There are 4 corners in Sbc. They have special significance.

It is written that the Nakshatra Padas in neighborhood to the corners are critical points and must be regarded in a special manner.

The following table gives the zodiacal positions of the corners and their corresponding neighbourhood Padas.

Corner Between Nakshatras Corner Position Pada Before Pada After
Right Upper Bharani - Krittika 26:40 Ar 23:20 - 26:40 Ari 26:40 Ari - 0:00 Tau
Right Lower Aslesha - Makha 0:00 Leo 26:40 Can - 0:00 Leo 0:00 - 2:20 Leo
Left Lower Vishakha - Anuradha 3:20 Sco 0:00 - 3:20 Sco 3:20 - 6:40 Sco
Left Upper Sravana - Dhanishta 23:20 Cap 20:00 - 23:20 Cap 23:20 - 26:40 Cap

The Role of Abhijit

Abhijit is the 28th star and is located between Uttarashadha and Sravana.

There are two main opinions about the usage of Abhijit.

  • First opinion tries to eliminate this star. People of this group do not place any planet into this Nakshatra.
  • Second opinion places several degrees of Uttarashadha and Sravana into Abhijit. So the last quarter of Uttarashadha and the first 15th part of Sravana are regarded as belonging to Abhijit.