Yogini Dasa

Yogini Dasa is another important Dasa of Vedic astrology. It is most frequentlty used in North India.

It is (similar to Vimsottari) a Nakshatra Dasa that is based upon the position of the Moon in her Lunar mansion.

Each Nakshatra is assigned to a Yogini. Each Yogini has a corresponding planet or Node. There are in total 8 Yoginis. Ketu does not play a role in this Dasa. The total period of Yogini Dasa is 36 years.

The rules for this Dasa are given in the table below.

Yogini Dasa Lord Duration (Years) Nakshatras
Mangala Moon 1 6, 14, 22
Pingala Sun 2 7, 15, 23
Dhanya Jupiter 3 8, 16, 24
Bhramari Mars 4 1, 9, 17, 25
Bhadrika Mercury 5 2, 10, 18, 26
Ulka Saturn 6 3, 11, 19, 27
Siddha Venus 7 4, 12, 20
Shankata Rahu 8 5, 13, 21
Sum 36

Antardasas (Subperiods)

Antardasas must be calculated similar to the Antardasas of Vimsottari Dasa. So the lord of the Dasa is the first Antardasa lord and has a proportional duration, etc.

Interpretation of Yogini Dasa

Influence of Yogini depends strongly upon the natural character of the Yogini. So bad Yoginis result in difficult periods and vice versa. Strength of the planets is important, too. But strength has not the same influence as in Vimsottari.

We give a summary of Yogini influences

Yogini Dasa Lord Dignity Signification
Mangala Moon Benefic Sucess, prosperity
Pingala Sun Malefic Diseases, suffering. Troubles, worries.
Dhanya Jupiter Benefic Prosperity, favours.
Bhramari Mars Malefic Travels, displacement. Possiblity of success abroad.
Bhadrika Mercury Benefic Good results. Career, social status.
Ulka Saturn Malefic Obstacles, delays. Grief.
Siddha Venus Benefic Wealth, company of opposite sex.
Shankata Rahu Malefic Loss, death, diseases.