Kalachakra Dasa is (like Vimsottari) a Lunar Nakshatra Dasa, i.e. a Dasa that is based upon the position of the Moon in her Lunar mansion.

But there are fundamental differences between Kalachakra and other Nakshatra Dasas

  1. Kalachakra is based upon Nakshatra Padas (instead of Nakshatras). The reader may recognize that Nakshatra Padas are the same as Navamsas. That means that Kalachakra is a Navamsa based Nakshatra Dasa.
  2. It is a Rasi Dasa (instead of Graha Dasa), i.e. the Dasa lords are Rasis and not planets.
  3. There are different opinions about the calculation methods. This is a problem similar to the Dasas of Jaimini Astrology.
  4. The Dasa is extremly sensitive for birth time and Ayanamsa changes. So it is applicable only if the native's birth time is quite accurate. A change of Ayanamsa can result in completely different results.

Savya and Apsavya Chakra

Each Nakshatra of the zodiac gets 9 different steps of the chakra. There are therefore 108 * 9 = 972 Dasas in the zodiac.

There are two main step directions of the chakra: direct and reverse motion. The first is called Savya, the second is called Apsavya.

  • The motion in Savya is from Aries to Pisces. It begins again in Aries after finishing one cycle of the zodiac.
  • The Apsavya motion is similar but reverse. So it proceeds from Pisces to Aries, etc.

There are two different chakras in Savya and Apsavya. So we get in total 4 groups of chakras.

These groups are called

  • 1a. Aswini group (first Savya group)
  • 1b. Bharani group (second Savya group)
  • 2a. Rohini group (first Apsavya group)
  • 2b. Mrigasira group (second Apsavya group)

Savya and Apsavya Nakshatras build groups of three. First group (1a/2a) comes at the beginning and at the end of each cycle, i.e. the order is Aswini-Bharani-Aswini for Savya and Rohini-Mrigasira-Rohini for Apsavya.

The table below shows how to map Nakshatras to the 4 chakras.

Number Nakshatra Savya/Apsavya Group
1 Aswini Savya 1. Aswini
2 Bharani Savya 2. Bharani
3 Krittika Savya 1. Aswini
4 Rohini Apsavya 3. Rohini
5 Mrigasira Apsavya 4. Mrigasira
6 Ardra Apsavya 3. Rohini
7 Punarvasu Savya 1. Aswini
8 Pushyami Savya 2. Bharani
9 Aslesha Savya 1. Aswini
10 Magha Apsavya 3. Rohini
11 Purvaphalguni Apsavya 4. Mrigasira
12 Uttaraphalguni Apsavya 3. Rohini
13 Hasta Savya 1. Aswini
14 Chitra Savya 2. Bharani
15 Swati Savya 1. Aswini
16 Visakha Apsavya 3. Rohini
17 Anuradha Apsavya 4. Mrigasira
18 Jyeshta Apsavya 3. Rohini
19 Mula Savya 1. Aswini
20 Purvashadha Savya 2. Bharani
21 Uttarashadha Savya 1. Aswini
22 Sravana Apsavya 3. Rohini
23 Dhanista Apsavya 4. Mrigasira
24 Satabhisha Apsavya 3. Rohini
25 Purvabhadra Savya 1. Aswini
26 Uttarabhadra Savya 2. Bharani
27 Revati Savya 1. Aswini


  • There is a change of Savya/Apsavya after 3 Nakshatras = 12 Navamsas. So the odd cycles in Navamsa chart are Savya, the even ones are Apsavya.
  • Savya and Apsavya change every 3 Nakshatras. But there is Savya at the beginning and at the end of the zodiac; so we can find 6 Savya nakshatras if we proceed from Purvabhadra to Krittika.

Nakshatras corresponding to Groups

The following shows the results of the table above in reverse logical order, i.e. Nakshatras are shown in their groups.

Group Subgroup Nakshatras
Savya 1. Aswini Aswini, Krittika, Punarvasu, Aslesha, Hasta, Swati, Mula, Uttarashadha, Purvabhadra, Revati
Savya 2. Bharani Bharani, Pushyami, Chitra, Purvashadha, Uttarabhadra
Apsavya 3. Rohini Rohini, Ardra, Magha, Uttaraphalguni, Visakha, Jyeshta, Sravana, Satabhisha
Apsavya 4. Mrigasira Mrigasira, Purvaphalguni, Anuradha, Dhanista


Paramayus is the maximum span of one cycle of the Kalachakra. Paramayus means also maximum span of life. There are 4 types of Paramayus: 83, 86, 85 and 100 years. These values depend on the birth Nakshatra and the Pada.

The table shows the Paramayus for Savya/Apsavya chakra depending on the Nakshatra Pada of the birth chart.

Type/Years 1st 2nd 3rd 4th
Savya Chakra 100 85 83 86
Apsavya Chakra 86 83 85 100

Duration of the Mahadasas

Each Rasi has a fixed duration between 4 and 21 years. See table below.

Rasi Lord Years
Aries, Scorpio Mars 7
Taurus, Libra Venus 16
Gemini, Virgo Mercury 9
Cancer Moon 21
Leo Sun 5
Sagittarius, Pisces Jupiter 10
Capricorn, Aquarius Saturn 4